Business Awards Attracting Much Attention

At the halfway stage in the entry process, interest in this year’s Electra Kapiti Horowhenua Business Awards is strong.

Awards organiser Kirsten Kilmister, says “it’s great to see so much interest from those who have never entered before.”

Some of the previous category winners are planning to enter again, following the lead of others who have re-entered to test the improvements they made and strive for the Business of the Year title.

The Past Masters category has already attracted a couple of previous major winners. *This* category is for previous ‘Business of the Year’ Award Winners that have shown the most significant improvements in the manner in which their business has developed since their top award was made. There are only 16 businesses eligible and some of them no longer exist.

Businesses that have registered their interest are using the awards-provided Entry Coordinator, Jeff Smith of Boost Business for advice and assistance in completing the documentation for the entry process.
Stuart Allen, from Allen Paper Ltd, Winner of the Small Business of the Year Excellence Awards 2010, says “entering the Awards allowed us to take a moment as a team to step back from the day to day hustle and bustle of our business and collect our thoughts and information from our business. This work became our entry which in turn has become a guide to our business.”

Tim Gibbs of last year’s* *Regional Branding & Promotion* *winner, Te Horo Foods, says “Jeff Smith, the entry coordinator, made the process a breeze and we gained some useful insights into our business from spending time on the business rather than on it.”

Entries for the 2011 Electra Kapiti Horowhenua Business Awards close on 11thJuly.
Allen Paper Newsprint, Kraft Paper, Tissue Paper, Greaseproof Paper,

Winners Small Business of the Year

After being finalists for small business of the year in 2009, This year Allen Paper  was nominated for as a finalist for two categories in the 2010 Electra Business Awards: New Thinking and the excellence category of small business of the year.

Allen Paper was named Small Business of the Year and Director Stuart Allen was presented the award by Frankie Stevens at the Award functions in Levin.

Receiving a nomination in the New Thinking category and contending it with two software company’s is a testament to the improvement and growth strategies being developed and  deployed by the team at the paper packaging manufacturer; Allen Paper.